Candidates who have qualified (as of July 10) for the Fort Payne City Council election:

• Brian Baine (for Mayor)

• Jamie Fleming

• Wade Hill

• Kerry Jones

• Charlene Magbie

• Diego Reynosa

• Angie Shugart

• Leslie Vaughn

• Walter Watson

• Neal Wooten

• Johnny Eberhart

• Randall Ham

• Phillip Smith

(Source: Fort Payne City Clerk Andy Parker)

Candidates who have qualified (as of July 10) for the Rainsville City Council election:

• Rodger Lingerfelt (for Mayor)

• Monk Blevins (Place One)

• Bejan Taheri (Place Two)

• Ricky Byrum (Place Three)

• Brandon Freeman (Place Four)

• Derek Rosson (Place Five)

(Source: Rainsville City Clerk Kelly Frazier)

The last day, by 5 p.m., to qualify to run in the elections is July 21, 2020. The last day for a voter to apply for a regular absentee ballot is August 20.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on August 25.

Candidates can announce in The Times-Journal. These announcements appear in the lower quarter of the front page to ensure similar placement for all candidates who reach out to us. Announcements should include a head and shoulders photo of the candidate and contain a word count of no more than 500 words describing who the candidate is and the office sought. These can be delivered in person to The Times-Journal office or emailed to To learn more about advertising, call Advertising Director Linda Stiefel at (256) 304-0061 or email

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.