Collinsville senior Brittany Rivera was named as one of three AHSAA Class 2A player of the year finalists by the Alabama Sports Writers Association this weekend.

Rivera, a 5-foot-9 forward, helped lead the Collinsville girls basketball team to a 29-3 record and the first state championship in program history this season.

She was named a 2A finalist for the classification's top player award with Cold Springs’ Elizabeth Hill and Geneva County’s Karoline Striplin.

Rivera signed a national letter of intent to continue her academic and basketball career with Gadsden State Community College. She averaged 14 points and eight rebounds in her final season with the Panthers and was named regional and state tournament MVP.

Hill, who is the reigning 2A player of the year, led Cold Springs to a 31-5 record and two straight Northeast Regional championships. The 5-11 forward broke the 2,000-career point threshold in a win against Vinemont in January. She averaged 19 points and seven rebounds as a senior.

Striplin, a 6-3 junior forward, led Geneva County to a 25-6 record. She’s committed to the University of Tennessee and averaged a double-double of 21 points and 13 rebounds this season.

The player of the year winners will be announced next week with Super All-State teams to follow. In addition, this year’s Mr. and Miss Basketball, which was originally scheduled for April 7, has been canceled.

“It is with regret that the Alabama Sports Writers Association announces the cancellation of the 2020 Mr./Miss Basketball banquet and awards ceremony due to ongoing concerns regarding the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic,” ASWA president Creg Stephenson said in a prepared statement. “We had hoped to go on as planned with the event, or at least postpone it to another date. However, with each passing day, it has become more and more apparent that either option would not be feasible, both for health and safety reasons and due to the constraints of the calendar. We still hope we will be able to publicly honor this year’s Mr. and Miss Basketball recipients at a later date and will make the appropriate announcement when more information is available.”

Here is the complete list of nominees from all AHSAA classifications, as well as AISA teams:

Class 7A

Sarah Ashlee Barker, Spain Park

Aniya Hubbard, Hoover

Amiya Payne, Hewitt-Trussville 

Class 6A

Farrah Pearson, Hazel Green

Kaitlin Peterson, Eufaula

Sara Puckett, Muscle Shoals 

Class 5A

Niaira Jones, Charles Henderson

Quintasia Leatherwood, Central-Tuscaloosa

Shaniah Nunn, Fairfield

Class 4A

Allasha Dudley, Anniston

Madie Krieger, Rogers

Jada Watkins, Sumter Central

Class 3A

Molly Heard, Pisgah

Jemeriah Moore, Midfield

Ruthie Smith, Lauderdale Co.

Class 2A

Elizabeth Hill, Cold Springs

Brittany Rivera, Collinsville

Karoline Striplin, Geneva Co.

Class 1A

Katie Jones, Decatur Heritage

Ally McCollum, Phillips

Bailee Usrey, Skyline


Augusta Arnold, Southern Academy

Mya Brooks, Glenwood

Chloe Johnson, Lee-Scott

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.